Navigationsweiche Anfang

Navigationsweiche Ende

Sprache wählen

Institute for High-Frequency and Communication Technology

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ullrich Pfeiffer


  • 6G Flagship’s board
    The Scientific Advisory Board of the 6G Flagship programme convened for the first time in beautiful... [mehr]
  • Internationale Auszeichnung für Wuppertaler Forschergruppe
    Für die Entwicklung eines neuartigen Chips zur Anwendung in der Biomedizin ist ein Wuppertaler... [mehr]
  • „Microwave Prize“ für Wuppertaler Radarforscher
    Die internationale Gesellschaft „Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S)“ verleiht den Preis... [mehr]
  • Wuppertaler Forscher ist Mitglied eines neuen Sonderforschungsbereichs (SFB), welcher ab Januar 2017 für voraussichtlich 12 Jahre gefördert wird.
    Die Arbeitsgruppe um Prof. Ullrich Pfeiffer, Lehrstuhl für Hochfrequenzsysteme in der... [mehr]
  • Terahertz-Quelle aus Wuppertal
    Wissenschaft und Industrie erhoffen sich große Entwicklungspotenziale von der bisher wenig... [mehr]
zum Archiv ->

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ullrich Pfeiffer

Bergische Universität Wuppertal,
Campus Freudenberg
Rainer-Gruenter-Str. 21, Gebäude FE
D-42119  Wuppertal

Raum 00.11 (Erdgeschoß)

Telefon:   +49-202-439-1451
Telefax:   +49-202-439-1450

Curriculum Vitae

Ullrich R. Pfeiffer received the diploma degree in physics and the Ph.D. in physics from the University of Heidelberg, Germany, in 1996 and 1999 respectively. In 1997 he worked as a research fellow at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxfordshire England.

From 1999-2001 he was working as a Postdoctoral Researcher, at the University of Heidelberg on real-time electronics for particle physics experiments at the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), Switzerland.

From 2001 to 2006 he was with the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center where his research involved RF circuit design, power amplifier design at 60GHz and 77GHz, high-frequency modeling and packaging for millimeter-wave communication systems.

In 2007 he received a European Young Investigator Award and lead the THz electronics group at the Institute of High-Frequency and Quantum Electronics at the University of Siegen, Germany.

Since 2008 he holds the High-frequency and Communication Technology chair at the University of Wuppertal, Germany.

He was the co-recipient of the 2004 and 2006 Lewis Winner Award for Outstanding Paper at the IEEE International Solid-State Circuit Conference, the co-recipient of the 2006 IBM Pat Goldberg Memorial Best Paper Award, the 2008 EuMIC Best Paper Award, the 2009 Best RFIC Oral Paper Presentation, the 2010 EuMC Microwave Prize, the 2017 MTT Microwave Prize, and the 2012 and 2018 Jan Van Vessem Award for Outstanding European Paper at the 2012 IEEE International Solid-State Circuit Conference.

He is an IEEE Senior Member, an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Terahertz Science and Technology, and serves as an Editorial Board Member of the Journal of Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves. From 2016-2017 he was the President of the German Association (Fakult¨atentag) for Electrical Engineering and Information Technology e.V. (FTEI), Germany. In 2014/15 he was an IEEE SSCS Distinguished Lecturer and currently serves as a Scientific Advisory Board Member of the Academy of Finland’s Flagship Program 6Genesis. He served on the technical program committee of the International Solid-State Circuits Conference, the European Solid-State Circuits Conference, the Bipolar/BiCMOS Circuits and Technology Meeting, the Silicon Monolithic Integrated Circuits in RF Systems Conference, and the European Microwave Integrated Circuits Conference.

He has authored and co-authored 200+ publications and has been principal inventor and co-inventor of 10+ US and international issued patents, relating to RF, millimeter-wave, terahertz communication/imaging circuits and sensors.